NORDISK HYDROLOGISK FORENING



Nordic Association for Hydrology

Minutes of the General Assembly of the Nordic Association for Hydrology

Place: MS Teams Date and time: Wednesday 7 October 2020, at 13:00-14:45 Present: up to 40 members

1. Opening of the General Assembly

The board chair, Linus Zhang, opened the General Assembly at 13:05 by welcoming everybody to the meeting. The meeting documents are published on the NHF's website: www.nhf-hydrology.org

2. Organization of the meeting: Appointment of meeting chairperson, meeting secretary, and two scrutinizers (also to be tellers)

Linus Zhang was elected as the meeting chair. Heidi Lee was elected as the secretary. Kolbjørn Engeland and Lennart de Maré were elected as the scrutinizers.

3. Legitimacy and quorum of the General Assembly

The General Assembly 2020 was announced at the previous NHF General Assembly in August 2018 in Bergen, Norway, on the NHF-website for more than 60 days before the meeting, on Twitter and by email. The number of meeting participants was sufficient. The General Assembly is therefore legal.

4. Approval of the agenda

The meeting agenda was approved.

5. Biennial 2018–2020 report from the Chairman of the board

The board chair, Linus Zhang, presented the biennial report describing board members and officers, board meetings (8), number of members, development of the association, key activities of the board and other appointed tasks of NHF. The 50th anniversary of NHF was promoted. The report was approved.

6. Biennial report 2018–2020 from the Publicity committee

Kolbjørn Engeland presented the biennial report on the committee's activities during the years 2018–2020. From 2019 the new Editor in chief of Hydrology Research is Prof. Björn Klöve. Hydrology Research has become full open access journal in 2020.

7. The financial accounts of 2018 and 2019, and the auditors' report

The treasurer, Martin Bergstrand, presented the financial accounts of the years 2018 and 2019. The year 2018 ended up with a profit of 103 070 SEK and the year 2019 with a deficit of -64 877 SEK. The financial conditions of NHF are still good, and the association is still able to develop its activities. The membership fees were collected in every member country both years.

The auditor, Lennart de Maré, introduced the auditors' report, and the comments included in the report. The auditors recommend the financial report for 2018 and 2019 to be adopted, and to grant the board and the treasurer discharge from liability for the administration during the years 2018 and 2019.

8. Approval of the financial accounts

The financial accounts of NHF for 2018 and 2019, and the auditors' report were approved.

9. Decision on release from responsibility

The General Assembly decided to grant the board and the treasurer discharge from liability for the administration during 2018 and 2019.

10. Budget for 2021 and 2022, and decision on membership fees

Linus Zhang and Martin Bergstrand presented the budget for 2021 and 2022. The result for 2021 is budgeted to be unprofitable (-17 000 SEK) and for 2022 profitable (11 000 SEK). NHF do not expect a surplus and assets should be used on different activities. However, the continuous deficits eat the own capital. Therefore, the coming years should be profitable or at least go in balance. The budget was approved.

The board suggested the following membership fees for to the coming two-year period, 2021–2022:

- The fee for individual members: SEK 0,-
- The fee for the Nordic institutional members: SEK 5 000,- and for the Baltic institutional members: SEK 2 000,-

Membership benefits will be:

- The conference fee (NHC) will be reduced by 10 % for the individual members.
- The conference fee (NHC) will be reduced by 50 % for one of the participants from each of the institutional member company/institution.

The General Assembly approved the new membership fees.

11. Election of board members, deputy members and chair

The following persons were suggested and elected. The proposals for new members or deputy members, or re-elections, are in **bold**, the others did not stand for the election. The numbers in brackets indicate the years each board member has remaining on the board from 2020. Linus Zhang from Sweden was re-elected as the chair of the board.

Country	Board member	Period	Years remaining	Comment
Denmark	Sofie G. W.	2018-	2	Board member since 2018.
	van't Veen	2022		
Estonia	Elve Lode	2018-	2	Board member since 2018.
		2022		
Finland	Anna-Kaisa	2020-	4	New.
	Ronkanen	2024		
Iceland	Tinna	2018-	2	Board member since 2018.
	Þórarinsdóttir	2022		
Latvia	Líga Klints	2020-	4	Re-election. Board member
	_	2024		since 2016.
Lithuania	Diana	2018-	2	Board member since 2014,
	Meilutyte-	2022		deputy member since 2010.
	Lukauskiene			
Norway	Kolbjørn	2018-	2	Board member since 2014.
2	Engeland	2022		
Sweden	Linus Zhang,	2020-	4	Re-election. Board member
	Chair	2024		since 2016, deputy member
				since 2012.

Board members:

Deputy members:

Country	Deputy member	Period	Years remaining	Comment
Denmark	Niels Behring Ovesen	2018- 2022	2	Deputy member since 2018.
Estonia	Jaanus Terasmaa	2018- 2022	2	Deputy member since 2018.
Finland	Eliisa Lotsari	2020- 2024	4	New.
Iceland	Kristján Geirsson	2018- 2022	2	Deputy member since 2018.
Latvia	Ainis Lagzdiņš	2020- 2024	4	Re-election. Deputy member since 2016.
Lithuania	Vytautas Akstinas	2018- 2022	2	Deputy member since 2018.
Norway	Stein Beldring	2018- 2022	2	Deputy member since 2014.
Sweden	Maria Elenius	2020- 2024	4	New.

12. Election of auditors and deputies

The following persons were suggested and elected:

Auditors	Deputy
Lennart de Maré	Björn Norell
Bo Leander	Jonas Olsson

13. Election of election committee members and deputies

The following persons were suggested and elected as the election committee. The new board was delegated the responsibility to fulfill the Danish representation in the election committee and nominate the chair of the election committee.

Country	Election committee	Deputy	
Denmark	Signe Søndergaard	N.N.	
Estonia	Alvina Reihan	Arvo Iital	
Finland	Riitta Kamula	Johanna Korhonen	
Iceland	Jórunn Hardardóttir	Helgi Jóhannesson	
Latvia	Ilze Rudlapa	Anda Bakute	
Lithuania	Zenonas Gulbinas	Jurate Kriauciuniene	
Norway	Per Alve Glad	Heidi Lee	
Sweden	Jing Li	Niclas Hjerdt	

14. Election of chair of the Publicity Committee

Kolbjørn Engeland was elected as the chair of the Publicity Committee for four (4) years in 2018 (-2022).

15. The change of statutes of NHF

The NHF-board suggested the General Assembly in 2018 an alteration of the statutes § 6 Board of the Association. The General Assembly in 2020 approved the change for the second time. The final alternation is --

The following statement is to be added to the § 6:

If the election committee has not suggested suitable candidates from each of the countries, not all countries need to be represented, as long as it is ensured that all board members are residents in any of the 8 member countries.

Minimum six of eight of the member countries should be represented in the board.

16. Time and organizer of the next Nordic Hydrological Conference and General Assembly

The next Nordic Hydrological Conference (XXXI) is postponed to 2022 due to the spread of Covid-19. The NHC XXXI was re-announced, and it will be held during 15–18 August 2022 in Tallinn, Estonia. The next General Assembly will be in connection with the NHC in Tallinn.

17. Other items

None.

18. Closing of the General Assembly

Linus Zhang closed the General Assembly at 14:45

Linus Zhang Linus Zhang Meeting Chair Heidi Lee Heidi Lee Meeting Secretary

Kolbjørn Engeland Kolbjørn Engeland Scrutinizer Lennart de Maré Lennart de Maré Scrutinizer